Carousel

The final scene of the movie includes the commencement address from the town’s doctor, Doc Seldon. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a clip that contained his whole talk which is included below.

Doc Seldon

It’s the custom at these graduations to pick out some old duck like me to preach at the kids. Well, I can’t preach at you. I know you all too well. I brought most of you into the world, rubbed liniment on your backs, poured castor oil down your throats. I only hope that now I got you this far, you’ll turn out to be worth all the trouble I took with you.

I… I can’t tell you any sure way to happiness. I only know that you’ve gotta go out and find it for yourselves. You can’t lean on the success of your parents.
That’s their success. And don’t be held back by their failures.

Billy Bigelow

Listen to him. Believe him.

Doc Seldon

It makes no difference what they did or didn’t do. You just stand on your own two feet. The world belongs to you as much as to the next fella. So don’t give it up. And try not to be scared of people not liking you. Just you try liking them. And just keep your faith and your courage and you’ll turn out all right.

It’s like what we used to sing every morning when I was a boy at school. Maybe you still sing it.

“When you walk through a storm
hold your head up high. “

Billy Bigelow

You know that one?

Student Chorus

And don’t be afraid of the dark

Billy Bigelow

Believe him, darling. Believe.

Student Chorus

At the end of the storm
Is a golden sky
And the sweet silver song
Of a lark

Billy Bigelow

I loved you, Julie.

Student Chorus

Walk on through the wind

Billy Bigelow

Know that I loved you.

Student Chorus

Walk on through the rain
Though your dreams
Be tossed and blown
Walk on, walk on
With hope in your heart
And you’ll never walk
Alone
You’ll never walk
Alone!

Leave a Reply

