Bend It Like Beckham

Transcript from Bend It Like Beckham

The film’s title refers to the football player David Beckham, and his skill at scoring from free kicks by curling the ball past a wall of defenders. It follows the 18-year-old daughter of Punjabi Sikhs in London. She is infatuated with football but her parents have forbidden her to play because she is a girl. She joins a local women’s team, which makes its way to the top of the league.

In this scene her coach visits her family to request that Jess be allowed to continue to play for their team.

Pinky

I’ll get it! – Yeah?

Joe (Coach)

Hello.

Joe (Coach)

Thanks, Jess.

I’m sorry to barge in on you like this, Mr and Mrs Bhamra but I wanted to talk to you in person. I only found out today that you didn’t know Jess was playing for us.

Jess’s Mother

No, we didn’t.

Joe (Coach)

I apologise. If I’d known, I would have encouraged Jess to tell you because I believe she’s got tremendous potential.

Jess’s Father

I think we know better our daughter’s potential. Jess has no time for games. – She’ll be starting university soon.

Jess

But playing for the team is an honour!

Jess’s Mother

What bigger honour is there – than respecting your elders?

Jess’s Father

Young man, when I was a teenager in Nairobi, I was the best fast bowler in our school. Our team even won the East African Cup. But when I came to this country, nothing. I was not allowed to play in any of the teams, and the bloody goras in their clubhouses made fun of my turban and sent me off packing!

Joe (Coach)

I’m sorry, Mr Bhamra… -… but now it’s…

Jess’s Father

Now what? None of our boys are in any of the football leagues. You think they will let our girls? I don’t want you to build up Jesminder’s hopes. She will only end up disappointed like me.

Jess

But Dad, it’s all changing now. Look at Nasser Hussein. He’s captain of the England cricket team – and he’s Asian.

Jess’s Mother

Hussein’s a Muslim name. Their families are different.

Jess

Mum!

Joe (Coach)

We’ve been invited to play in Germany this Saturday. – It’s a shame you’ll miss it.

Jess

Wow! Germany!

Joe (Coach)

I can see what you’re up against, but your parents don’t always know what’s best for you Jess.

Leave a Reply

