Notting Hill

Transcript from Notting Hill

Anna is a famous movie star and William owns a small bookstore in Notting Hill, a neighborhood in London, England. They’ve been getting to know one another after Anna, who is filming a movie in London, went into William’s book store one day. Anna would like a relationship with William, but he’s afraid of – among other things – her fame.

WILLIAM

Anna, look, um– I’m a fairly level-headed bloke, um, not often in and out of love. But, uh– Can I just say no to you … your kind request and, uh, leave it at that?

ANNA

Yes. Fine. Of course. I— Of course. Well, I’ll just be going, um, then. It was nice to see you.

WILLIAM

The thing is, with you I’m in real … danger. It seems like a … perfect situation, apart from that foul temper of yours, but … my relatively inexperienced heart would, I fear, not … recover, uh, if I was … once again cast aside, as I would absolutely expect to be. There are just too many pictures of you, too many films. You know, you’d go and I’d be, uh, well, buggered, basically.

ANNA

That really is a real no, isn’t it?

WILLIAM

I live in Notting Hill. You live in … Beverly Hills. Everyone in the world knows who you are. My mother has trouble remembering my name.

ANNA

Fine. Fine. Good decision. Good decision. The fame thing isn’t really real, you know? And don’t forget I’m– I’m also just a girl … standing in front of a boy … asking him to love her. Good-bye.

Leave a Reply

