A Beautiful Mind

John Nash was a professor of mathematics at MIT and Princeton Universities and suffered from delusional paranoid schizophrenia.  The movie begins in Nash’s days as a graduate student at Princeton University. Nash watches the burden his condition brings on wife Alicia and friends. In this scene, Nash proposes to his future wife.

Transcript from A Beautiful Mind

JOHN NASH

Good evening. Alicia, please don’t be angry. I just lost track of time at work… again.

ALICIA

Mm-hmm.

JOHN NASH

I’m sorry. I didn’t have time to wrap it. Happy birthday. The refractive faces of the glass, you see, they create a full wavelength dispersal, so if you look inside it, you can see- –

ALICIA

Every possible color. –

JOHN NASH

Every possible color.

ALICIA

Yeah.

JOHN NASH

Remember you said that time God must be a painter, because of all the colors, at the governor’s house? you said that.

ALICIA

I didn’t think you were listening.

JOHN NASH

I’m always listening.

ALICIA

It’s beautiful.

JOHN NASH

Alicia, does our relationship warrant long-term commitment? ‘Cause I need some kind of proof, some kind of verifiable, empirical data.

ALICIA

I’m sorry, just give me a moment… to redefine my girlish notions of romance. A proof? Verifiable data. Um… okay. Well, how big is the universe?

JOHN NASH

Infinite.

ALICIA

How do you know?

JOHN NASH

I know because all the data indicate it.

ALICIA

But it hasn’t been proven yet?

JOHN NASH

No.

ALICIA

You haven’t seen it. How do you know for sure?

JOHN NASH

I don’t, I just believe it.

ALICIA

Mmm. It’s the same with love, I guess. Now, the part that you don’t know… is if I want to marry you.

Leave a Reply

