The King’s Speech

Transcript from The King’s Speech

BUCKINGHAM PALACE, DAY

King George VI, who has a speech impediment and who has been working with Lionel Logue, an Australian speech therapist, is about to give his first major broadcast announcing Great Britain’s entry into World War II

MR WOOD

Good luck, Your Majesty.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Mr. Wood. You’ve redecorated, Logue.

LOGUE

I made it cozy. Some fresh air.

QUEEN ELIZABETH

There you are, darling.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

I’m a thistle-sifter. I’ve a sieve of sifted thistles and a sieve of unsifted thistles.

A sieve of sifted thistles and a sieve of unsifted thistles.

Because I’m…

QUEEN ELIZABETH

Bertie. Darling. Make sure it’s not switched on.

LOGUE

Remember, the red light will blink four times, then I’ve asked them to turn it off. ‘Cause we don’t want that evil eye staring at you all the way through.

MR WOOD

One minute, sir.

QUEEN MARY

I’m sure you’ll be splendid.

MR WOOD

Forty seconds, sir.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Logue, however this turns out…I don’t know how to thank you…for what you’ve done.

LOGUE

Knighthood?

MR WOOD

Twenty seconds.

LOGUE

Forget everything else, and just say it to me. Say it to me as a friend.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

In this grave…hour…perhaps the most fateful in our history…I send…to every household of my…peoples…both at home…and overseas…this message… spoken with the same depth of feeling …for each one of you…as if I were able to cross your threshold and speak to you…myself.

For the second time in the lives of most of us…we are… at..

.Fuck, fuck, fuck!

…at war.

LOGUE

Very good.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Over and over again…we have tried to find…a peaceful way out of the differences…between ourselves…and those…who are now our…enemies. But it has been…in vain.

We have been forced into a conflict, for we are called to meet the challenge of a principle, which, if it were to prevail, would be fatal to any civilized order in the world.

Such a principle, stripped of all disguise, is surely the mere…primitive doctrine that might…is right.

For the sake of all that we ourselves hold dear it is unthinkable that we should refuse to meet…the challenge.

It is to this high purpose that I now call my people at home, and my peoples across the seas, who will make our cause their own.

I ask them to stand calm and firm and united in this time of trial.

The task will be hard. There may be dark days ahead, and war can no longer be confined to the battlefield.

But we can only do the right as we see the right, and reverently commit our cause to God. If one and all we keep resolutely faithful to it, then, with God’s help, we shall…prevail.

LOGUE

It was very good, Bertie. You still stammered on the “W”

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Well, I had to throw in a few, so they knew it was me.

MR WOOD

Congratulations, Your Majesty. A true broadcaster.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Thank you, Mr. Wood.

Congratulations, Your Majesty.

Sir.

Congratulations, Your Majesty.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Thank you.

Ready.

BERTIE, KING GEORGE VI

Good?

PHOTOGRAPHER

Perfect, sir.

 

Leave a Reply

